Resources

Courrier d'Essex/Courrier de l'Ouest [newspaper]

French Canadians began settling in Ontario at the beginning of the 18th century with the establishment of an agricultural settlement on the site that is now Windsor, Ontario. It was almost a century later that this small colony expanded and further settlements were created to meet the demand for industrial labour as Ontario developed. The majority of Franco-Ontarians settled in the area between Ottawa and the Québec border, and this remains the region with the highest concentration of French-speaking people and those of French origin. As of 1981, Franco-Ontarians made up 7.5% of Ontario’s population, of whom about two-thirds spoke French as their mother tongue. In the 20th century the question of language rights in education was a primary concern of the Franco-Ontarian community. Franco-Ontarians pressed for, and won, the legal right to French-language education, which allowed French-language schools to join the public system.

The French-language newspaper Le Courrier d’Essex began publishing in 1884 in Windsor. In 1885 its name was changed to Le Courrier de l’Ouest, expanding its reach to serve French communities outside Essex County. It ceased publication altogether in 1886. It appears to have been published at irregular intervals and most issues do not survive or are incomplete. Those pages that are available, however, are a fascinating testament to its time and place. Coverage of the Riel Rebellion, for example, mingles with international news, religious instruction, poems and anecdotes for family reading, and local advertising.

Collection contributed by: Simon Fraser University Library

Search le Courrier d’Essex/Courrier de l’Ouest

Browse le Courrier d'Essex/Courrier de l'Ouest

Courrier d’Essex/Courrier de l’Ouest

Les Canadiens français ont commencé à s’installer en Ontario au début du 18e siècle. Ils ont fondé une colonie agricole qui est aujourd’hui devenue la municipalité de Windsor. Près d’un siècle plus tard, cette petite colonie s’est élargie et d’autres agglomérations furent établies pour satisfaire la demande croissante de main-d’œuvre en Ontario. La majorité des Franco-Ontariens se sont installés dans la région située entre la ville d’Ottawa et la frontière du Québec. Encore aujourd’hui, c’est dans cette région que l’on retrouve la plus haute concentration de francophones et de personnes d’origine franco-canadienne. En 1981, 7,5% de la population de l’Ontario était Franco-Ontarienne, dont environ deux tiers comptait le français comme langue maternelle. Au 20e siècle, la question des droits linguistiques en éducation était au premier plan des préoccupations de la communauté franco-ontarienne. Les francophones de l’Ontario ont exercé des pressions et ils ont remporté le droit légal d’accès à l’éducation en français, ce qui a permis d’annexer les écoles francophones au système d’éducation public.

Le premier numéro du Courrier d’Essex, un journal de langue française, fut publié en 1884, à Windsor. En 1885, rebaptisé Le Courrier de l’Ouest, le journal fut distribué aux communautés francophones à l’extérieur du comté d’Essex. Le dernier numéro du journal a paru en 1886. Il semble que le journal était publié de façon irrégulière et les rares numéros ayant survécu sont incomplets. On y trouve des articles sur la rébellion de Riel, des informations internationales, des instructions religieuses, des poèmes, des anecdotes pour la lecture familiale et des annonces publicitaires locales, entre autres.

Contribution de la bibliothèque de l’Université Simon Fraser

Search le Courrier d’Essex/Courrier de l’Ouest

Browse le Courrier d'Essex/Courrier de l'Ouest